• Colorado’s Political Landscape & New State House Leadership

    November 8th saw a lot of political change nationally, however, the political landscape in Colorado looks similar to how it did before voting began. U.S. Senator Michael Bennet won re-election as Colorado’s Senior Senator and all seven of Colorado’s Congressional Representatives retained their seats. The Colorado Statehouse will not see a change is party control with the Democrats increasing their majority to 37-28 in the House of Representatives and the Republicans maintaining their 18-17 majority in the Senate.

    Colorado Congressional Delegation Members on the 2016 Ballot

    U.S. Senator Michael Bennet – Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Diana DeGette (CO-1) - Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Jared Polis (CO-2) – Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Scott Tipton (CO-3) – Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Ken Buck (CO-4) – Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-5) – Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Mike Coffman (CO-6) – Re-elected

    U.S. Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-7) – Re-elected


    Quickly following the election, all four of the Colorado Statehouse caucuses held elections to set direction for the next two years:

    House Democratic Leadership

    Speaker-Designate - Rep. Crisanta Duran (HD5 - Denver)

    Majority Leader - KC Becker (HD13 - Boulder)

    Assistant Majority Leader - Alec Garnet (HD2 - Denver)

    Whip - Brittany Pettersen (HD28 - Lakewood)

    Deputy Whip - Jovan Melton (HD41 - Aurora)

    Caucus Chair - Daneya Esgar (HD46 - Pueblo)

    Deputy Caucus Chair - Jeni Arndt (HD53 - Fort Collins)


    House Republican Leadership

    Minority Leader - Patrick Neville (HD45 - Castle Rock)

    Assistant Minority Leader - Cole Wist (HD37 - Centennial)

    Whip - Perry Buck (HD49 - Windsor)

    Caucus Chair - Lori Saine (HD63 - Firestone)


    Senate Republican Leadership

    President-elect - Kevin Grantham (SD2 - Canon City)

    President Pro Tempore - Jerry Sonnenberg (SD1 - Sterling)

    Majority Leader - Chris Holbert (SD30 - Parker)

    Assistant Majority Leader - Ray Scott (SD7 - Grand Junction)

    Whip - John Cooke (SD13 - Greeley)

    Caucus Chair - Vicki Marble (SD23 - Fort Collins)


    Senate Democratic Leadership

    Minority Leader - Lucia Guzman (SD34 - Denver)

    Assistant Minority Leader -Leroy Garcia (SD3 - Pueblo)

    Whip - Michael Merrifield (SD11 - Colorado Springs)

    Caucus Chair - Lois Court (SD31 - Denver)


    Additional Leadership Election News Stories

    Duran, Grantham top list of new legislative leaders

    State House and Senate elect new leadership

    Colorado House, Senate leadership choices could spark heated debates

    Donald Trump’s victory spills into the Colorado legislature